El Compadre ‘Factory’

First off, allow me the proprietors of this establishment on selecting a fine name, translated from the spanglish as “the friend factory”, that puts a grin on my face. Their selection of both interior and exterior paints is equally cheery, a bright green outside and a light violet interior.


It seems that El Compadre Factory has recently changed ownership and name. Formerly, as Chino Latino, it had dancing on some nights. The booths still hug the walls and there is one of those multicolored disco ball lights hanging from the ceiling. The road sign outside made it unclear whether or not there is still dancing on the weekends (as well as the name of the place).

Before I get to the food, I would like to share the highlight of my visit. The typo on the sign by the entrance. It really made the trip out down 70 to East Holloway worth it.

The food is pretty standard taqueria fare: generous portions, low prices and an impressive variety of options that lead to some serious wikipedia-ing afterwards. I now know that ‘cecina’ is a type of salted dried beef, ‘longaniza’ is a pork sausage similar to chorizo but differently seasoned and ‘pambazo’ is a Mexican hot sandwich dipped in guajillo pepper sauce. All things I need to try if I return. I took a photo of the menu for future study. This trip, I chose the torta cubana and my companion selected a taco al pastor and a carne asada huerache. The torta cubana ($6) featured a nice crusty roll filled with chicken, carne asada and a hot dog topped with lettuce, avocado and tomato. While I initially raised an eyebrow at the hot dog, the overall sandwich experience was quite nice, especially when I added the grilled green onion garnish, some of the house red hot sauce (I believe a chile de arbol) and a squeeze of lime. Munching on some the radishes between bites, it made for a filling meal.

The huarache (which my companion pointed out translates to ‘sandal’) consisted of a thick, oblong corn tortilla, probably made in house, topped with refried beans, carne asada, and cheese, drizzled with fresh crema. I enjoyed it topped with some pico de gallo (which may have been intended for the taco), though it was a bit difficult not to slice the wax paper beneath it into each bite. Definitely a lot of food for 3 bucks. The taco al pastor was probably the best item we tried, though it didn’t have any pineapple. It was seasoned very well, but I couldn’t resist adding a bit of the salsa verde to it for a bit of that tomatillo citrusy zing.

Overall, a decent cheap eat find with a lot of room for exploration. I think I’ll stop by next time I’m in the area, try a pambazo and make sure the beast sign is still there. I take solace in little confirmations of the universe’s bad sense of humor.

About this entry